Bevil Bros. Funeral Homes, Inc originally was the Birkhead Funeral Home in Hartford. It was started around 1914 by Ernest Birkhead. The funeral home was sold to Duke Funeral Homes, Inc. in 1966. This firm consisted of Hugh E Duke Sr., Hugh E Duke Jr. and T. B. Duke.
The Duke Funeral Home was started in 1915 by Edgar F. Duke in Dundee. When Edgar Duke died in 1956, Hugh E Duke, Sr. took over the business. Along with his sons (Hugh E.Duke, Jr. & Thomas B. Duke) Mr. Duke opened a funeral home in Centertown in 1962. In 1966 they purchased the Birkhead Funeral Home in Hartford. The Duke family kept the funeral homes until 1986.
They sold the funeral homes in Centertown & Hartford to Larry & Kathy and Jerry & Judy Bevil, the name then became Bevil Bros. Funeral Homes, Inc. In 2000, Bevil Bros. opened a new chapel in the Beaver Dam area. In February 2012, our funeral home located in Hartford was destroyed by fire. We will be operating all of our business out of our Beaver Dam location. We want to thank all of our families and friends for understanding and we are still committed to serving the people of all of our surrounding communities.
Since entering the funeral service profession, it has been our dream to return to our hometown with a new funeral home. This became a reality with our new facility at 226 Louisville Road. We are eager to serve the families of Beaver Dam with our two large chapels, kitchen, and two lounge areas. With our family friendly facility and our many years of funeral service experience, we are ready to help Beaver Dam area residents with this difficult time in their lives